The Big One

This time next week four of us intrepid walkers will be on day three of The Big One. For those not in the know that means The Pennine Way.

When I mention to people that it’s our next walk I can predict that there will be a sharp intake of breath and then some tooth sucking and something like “I hope you’ve got good waterproofs” – encouraging mmm?

Now on previous walks I’ve generally rocked up with my kit in stuff sacks and some new socks and hoped for the best but this time I’ve done some research, not training mind, research. And frankly the tooth suckers could well be right. There’s plenty to be anxious about.

The PW was instituted just over 50 years ago in (pale) imitation of the Appalachian Way the idea being that walkers could find wilderness in this small and in places overcrowded country. It runs for 268 from Edale in the Peak District to Kirk Yethom north of the border. And it’s hard. And bleak. And challenging. Peat bog and lonely moors and desolate landscapes, unfriendly natives and bears. No not the last two. Because it’s not the Appalachian Way, and in my experience most people are kinder than I deserve. Especially to a damp walker.

So not without some reservations I’m sharpening my blogging finger and packing my rucksack tonight- and yes I’ve got good waterproofs.

 

7 thoughts on “The Big One

  1. ‘Not training, mind’… made me grin in recognition. Sending you virtual slabs of fruitcake for your journey and very much looking forward to hearing and seeing what that distance feels like (yikes!) xx

  2. Go with God our lovely daughter. Spend your pocket money wisely, Chocolate, cake, carbs and GIN. Forget ice cream
    I give you the same prayer that brought you safely home from the Camino
    May the road rise up to meet you,
    May the wind be always at your back, may the sun shine upon your face and the rain fall soft upon your fields, and, until we meet again may our Hod hold you in the palm of His hands.
    We love you Verity-Anne.

  3. Go for it girls. You are amazing walkers, know the PW is a big as but together you are so strong. Thinking of you. Gods Speed.
    Kate xxx

Leave a Reply

