Helmsley

Day 1 Had supper at the YHA – a very commendable vegetable lasagna and hefty sticky toffee pudding. Pretty rib sticking and barely a mile walked so far.  

    
 Helmsley is a delightful little town with an abundance of tea rooms. You could stay a week and not visit the same one twice. And maybe when I’m in my dotage I’ll come in my bath chair and be wheeled from scone to scone. For now though I’m thinking of the walk to come tomorrow and hoping my kit is sufficiently waterproof.

This is a nice youth hostel, friendly and clean and busy with a few families and while I d prefer it without the thumping and creaking about in the room above my head it’s for one night… And it is only 20.25. Good night. 

Leave a Reply

