Stuff by the side of the road


More rain, so I am indoors, himself is running in search of a moose. Road signs promise them. Our last campsite but one virtually guaranteed your money back if you didn’t see one, but we didn’t. There is a large chocolate one on display somewhere about 200 miles back. It’s going to be rainy all day and Sunday afternoons are often dull so I expect it’ll be busy today.

I have seen a dead deer though by the side of the road. It was such a large, dignified creature to be just lying there, eyes still open, very sad. I feel the same in the UK with badgers. They seem to die baring their teeth in a rictus of defiance, as if they had any chance against the great metal beasts that mow them down.

We’ve seen other creatures. A lot of roadkill. I am getting inured to it and we speculate:

Him: What was that do you think?

Her: It looked like a puppy.

It wasn’t a puppy. I think it was a woodchuck.

How big is a woodchuck?

I don’t know.

I think I saw a dead porcupine back there.

Really?

Yup.

Remember we are doing a lot of miles and because of May-Belle we don’t need to argue about navigation.

Other features of the landscape. Bossy signs. We love them.

Yard sales. Yes yes yes. I love looking at other people’s stuff. It’s a bit like blogging. Some people put their nice useful stuff out and price it up modestly – it’ll do someone else a turn. Some people are generous and give away their good stuff: I’ve seen chairs and books and vacuum flasks and all sorts of things I could find a home for even here. Blogs exist like this too. Like the guy who wrote an immense and very useful guide to Boston. Thank you my friend.

Other people just put it all out there: a used Brillo pad, some greying knickers, a deflated lilo – turn it over and you see why, every newspaper they’ve not read since 1970. They put up a sign – FREE STUFF – what they mean is take away my old junk for me for free. Blogs can be like that too.

When I reach my destination, Harpers Ferry I mean, not heaven, I intend to have a yard sale. Or maybe put up a sign for FREE STUFF.

I have a sweet little doormat which has been very useful in keeping sand and grit out.

I wouldn’t give it houseroom at home but it’s been worth every dollar here. Two Walmart chairs. Ditto. A half used jar of Nutella. Very useful feeding in low blood sugar moments. Some healthy yoghurts we don’t like. Two rolls of special camping loo roll. And shedloads of those self sealing plastic bags.

3 thoughts on “Stuff by the side of the road

  1. Whereas we saw loads of moose (including a mother and baby) in Ontario and even two beavers on separate occasions but no bears. We’d been told meese were rare but bears common. We even went near a rubbish dump where bears were supposed to hang out.

Leave a Reply

Stuff by the side of the road


More rain, so I am indoors, himself is running in search of a moose. Road signs promise them. Our last campsite but one virtually guaranteed your money back if you didn’t see one, but we didn’t. There is a large chocolate one on display somewhere about 200 miles back. It’s going to be rainy all day and Sunday afternoons are often dull so I expect it’ll be busy today.

I have seen a dead deer though by the side of the road. It was such a large, dignified creature to be just lying there, eyes still open, very sad. I feel the same in the UK with badgers. They seem to die baring their teeth in a rictus of defiance, as if they had any chance against the great metal beasts that mow them down.

We’ve seen other creatures. A lot of roadkill. I am getting inured to it and we speculate:

Him: What was that do you think?

Her: It looked like a puppy.

It wasn’t a puppy. I think it was a woodchuck.

How big is a woodchuck?

I don’t know.

I think I saw a dead porcupine back there.

Really?

Yup.

Remember we are doing a lot of miles and because of May-Belle we don’t need to argue about navigation.

Other features of the landscape. Bossy signs. We love them.

Yard sales. Yes yes yes. I love looking at other people’s stuff. It’s a bit like blogging. Some people put their nice useful stuff out and price it up modestly – it’ll do someone else a turn. Some people are generous and give away their good stuff: I’ve seen chairs and books and vacuum flasks and all sorts of things I could find a home for even here. Blogs exist like this too. Like the guy who wrote an immense and very useful guide to Boston. Thank you my friend.

Other people just put it all out there: a used Brillo pad, some greying knickers, a deflated lilo – turn it over and you see why, every newspaper they’ve not read since 1970. They put up a sign – FREE STUFF – what they mean is take away my old junk for me for free. Blogs can be like that too.

When I reach my destination, Harpers Ferry I mean, not heaven, I intend to have a yard sale. Or maybe put up a sign for FREE STUFF.

I have a sweet little doormat which has been very useful in keeping sand and grit out.

I wouldn’t give it houseroom at home but it’s been worth every dollar here. Two Walmart chairs. Ditto. A half used jar of Nutella. Very useful feeding in low blood sugar moments. Some healthy yoghurts we don’t like. Two rolls of special camping loo roll. And shedloads of those self sealing plastic bags.

Leave a Reply

