New blog

Oops! I almost wrote new blob, that’s the problem with typing while lying in bed with jet lag. That is this nasty not quite sleepy but not quite awake queasy feeling, yes? I now know what you’ve all been talking about. Grim. But the good thing is I do have the bed all to myself and it’s a queen size. John has his own about six feet away from me. He’s reading about the sewerage system on the beast of a truck we’re about to pick up. We are on day one, (or is it two or even three, anyhow we left home on Tuesday evening and now it’s Thursday), of our American adventure. We are celebrating 30 years of married life by attending a family wedding and doing what I think is a ‘road trip’.At present we are in Germantown which is NE of Washington. We have four hours to wait until we can pick up our RV and be on our way to  West Virginia. It’s 31 degrees outside, our hotel is situated on a busy intersection, there’s not much to see except parking lots, so we have gone back to bed.

I don’t follow many blogs but I enjoy The Practical Free Spirit’s (Amy Sundberg’s) posts. They are thoughtful, well structured and witty. She wrote recently about travel and how unsettling it is and how we learn as much about ourselves as we do about the new places we visit. Being unsettled is neither good nor bad, but you do find out what you’re made of when it happens. This is part of the experiment we are embarked on. Yesterday I learned how to be pampered. I liked it. It was unsettling I suppose, most of my travelling has been functional, getting from A-B without too much discomfort but yesterday’s experience took travel to another level.

Despite my advanced years I am not well-travelled. I don’t come out well on that Facebook app where you colour in all the places you’ve been. Both my children and my parents have been to more continents than me, and if we include nieces and nephews I reckon my extended family has just about covered the globe. Until yesterday I hadn’t done a flight longer than two hours but yesterday I flew business class from Heathrow to Washington Dulles. It was glorious. As a Trans-Atlantic virgin it quite made my day. I was shown to a little pod type cocoon with all sorts of sliding trays and roomy lockers, a quilt and pillow, a tilting screen to watch. I spent the first two hours playing with all the buttons and not quite mastering the reclining position of my seat. I watched one woman come in, assume a horizontal position, put her ear plugs in and eye mask on and sleep motionless for the next six hour.It obviously wasn’t her first time but I was so excited I could hardly sit still.

She missed the champagne and the Sancerre which went well with the fish pie: also the choice of many types of strong liquor (which I didn’t have). I hasten to add that I didn’t over indulge and, indeed emptied many bottles of fizzy water. And all served by your very own Jeeves. After lunch they turned the lights down and I got the idea I was supposed to stop fiddling now and sleep. It was like putting your head on the desk at school or that quiet moment at the end of a yoga class when we’re all afraid of dropping off, drooling or snoring. Just lovely. Then two hours later we were woken up, gently, gently by the lights coming on and then some dudey little prawn sandwiches and scones with real clotted cream appeared. I hadn’t really done anything since lunchtime except slide up and down in my seat and re arrange my locker, but I ate them anyway. I hate waste.

Since then our experiences have, shall I say, been mixed. But we’ve weathered it. Like those 30 years really.

2 thoughts on “New blog

  1. So glad you had that business experience! We got upgraded by surprise when we went to Cape Town. I felt just like the queen of the world. So pampered. So comfy.
    The RV sounds a bit mixed…..we looked at a SMALL camper today in the carpark at Riverside, got a guided tour by the owner. Def wouldnt measure up to JOHNS! Jury still out. I think it would be a challenge in being out of control and just going with the flow. Part of me rises to it, part cringes. We’ll see which wins….
    Enjoy EVERYTHING my friends
    SX

Leave a Reply

